ALSA: HDA: Sigmatel: work around incorrect master muting
authorClemens Ladisch <clemens@ladisch.de>
Fri, 15 Oct 2010 08:32:50 +0000 (10:32 +0200)
committerTakashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
Sun, 17 Oct 2010 08:45:30 +0000 (10:45 +0200)
commitde8c85f7840e5e29629de95f5af24297fb325e0b
tree79f9a1cff3ff4b5baec72186f5d0709803b9125e
parentc3d226ab8b44fe31e5e6d5739eb353597cea4029
ALSA: HDA: Sigmatel: work around incorrect master muting

The HDA specification does not allow for a codec to mute itself just
because the volume is reduced, so _of course_ somebody had to go and do
it.  This wouldn'\''t hurt too much when the volume is adjusted by hand,
but programs like PA that try to set the volume automatically could
inadvertently mute the output.

To work around this, change the TLV dB information for the Master volume
on all Sigmatel HDA codecs to indicate the the minimal volume setting
actually mutes.

Reported-by: Colin Guthrie <gmane@colin.guthr.ie>
Reported-by: "Alexander E. Patrakov" <patrakov@gmail.com>
Tested-by: Colin Guthrie <cguthrie@mandriva.org>
Signed-off-by: Clemens Ladisch <clemens@ladisch.de>
Signed-off-by: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
sound/pci/hda/hda_codec.c
sound/pci/hda/hda_local.h
sound/pci/hda/patch_sigmatel.c