sched: Allow for overlapping sched_domain spans
authorPeter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Fri, 15 Jul 2011 08:35:52 +0000 (10:35 +0200)
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Wed, 20 Jul 2011 16:32:41 +0000 (18:32 +0200)
commite3589f6c81e4764d32a25d2a2a0afe54fa344f5c
tree414bf6bdbad3f04f629fa2a72254ea85acf723f4
parent9c3f75cbd144014bea6af866a154cc2e73ab2287
sched: Allow for overlapping sched_domain spans

Allow for sched_domain spans that overlap by giving such domains their
own sched_group list instead of sharing the sched_groups amongst
each-other.

This is needed for machines with more than 16 nodes, because
sched_domain_node_span() will generate a node mask from the
16 nearest nodes without regard if these masks have any overlap.

Currently sched_domains have a sched_group that maps to their child
sched_domain span, and since there is no overlap we share the
sched_group between the sched_domains of the various CPUs. If however
there is overlap, we would need to link the sched_group list in
different ways for each cpu, and hence sharing isn't possible.

In order to solve this, allocate private sched_groups for each CPU's
sched_domain but have the sched_groups share a sched_group_power
structure such that we can uniquely track the power.

Reported-and-tested-by: Anton Blanchard <anton@samba.org>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/n/tip-08bxqw9wis3qti9u5inifh3y@git.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
include/linux/sched.h
kernel/sched.c
kernel/sched_features.h