x86: Make Dell Latitude E5420 use reboot=pci
authorDaniel J Blueman <daniel.blueman@gmail.com>
Fri, 13 May 2011 01:04:59 +0000 (09:04 +0800)
committerH. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Thu, 21 Jul 2011 18:45:49 +0000 (11:45 -0700)
Rebooting on the Dell E5420 often hangs with the keyboard or ACPI
methods, but is reliable via the PCI method.

[ hpa: this was deferred because we believed for a long time that the
  recent reshuffling of the boot priorities in commit
  660e34cebf0a11d54f2d5dd8838607452355f321 fixed this platform.
  Unfortunately that turned out to be incorrect. ]

Signed-off-by: Daniel J Blueman <daniel.blueman@gmail.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1305248699-2347-1-git-send-email-daniel.blueman@gmail.com
Signed-off-by: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: <stable@kernel.org>

arch/x86/kernel/reboot.c

index 14eed21..3dfd38f 100644 (file)
@@ -427,6 +427,14 @@ static struct dmi_system_id __initdata pci_reboot_dmi_table[] = {
                        DMI_MATCH(DMI_PRODUCT_NAME, "Latitude E6320"),
                },
        },
+       {       /* Handle problems with rebooting on the Latitude E5420. */
+               .callback = set_pci_reboot,
+               .ident = "Dell Latitude E5420",
+               .matches = {
+                       DMI_MATCH(DMI_SYS_VENDOR, "Dell Inc."),
+                       DMI_MATCH(DMI_PRODUCT_NAME, "Latitude E5420"),
+               },
+       },
        { }
 };